Reviews - DilipBam.com http://dilipbam.com/reviews.html Mon, 11 Dec 2017 06:07:25 +0000 Joomla! - Open Source Content Management en-gb Satyamev Jayate Latest (Sunday.3.June.2012) episode on inter-religious marriages and Khap Panchayats http://dilipbam.com/reviews/204-satyamev-jayate-latest-sunday-3-june-2012-episode-on-inter-religious-marriages-and-khap-panchayats.html http://dilipbam.com/reviews/204-satyamev-jayate-latest-sunday-3-june-2012-episode-on-inter-religious-marriages-and-khap-panchayats.html

To start with: The Priyanka – Rizwanur affair in Kolkata few years ago. I was in Kolkata at that time and the news was on front pages. I read all reports on this subject with great interest, since I (Hindu) also married an Arab Muslim girl, from whom I have two children almost as old as Amir. Amir has twice married Hindu women. SRK has (so far) once married Hindu woman. Salman may marry Hindu woman after he grows up (Indian Law says that male cannot marry till 21). Hrithik has married Muslim woman. 

The show has done a great job of playing to the gallery, showing tears and claps at appropriate times. What I read in the Kolkata papers at that time suggested that Rizwanur committed suicide out of frustration. You and I would probably have done the same. It is quite common, happens every day everywhere. 

Then the show goes to Khap Panchayat (Manoj & Babli), and the accent shifts to same gotra marriage. Does the show accept same gotra marriage? This is against genetic code. Same gotra leads to infertility (no children) and other genetic problems & deformities. Just see our Parsi community. When I was in school, there were 1,50,000 (0ne Lakh Fifty thousand) Parsis. Today there are hardly 20,000/-. Why? This is the community which ran away from Iran due to Islamic marauders in 689 AC and settled in Gujarat 1200 years ago, and produced such great people like Dadabhoy Naoroji, J.N.Tata, S.P.Godrej, H.N. Sethna and other greats. Why is it not producing MANY more children? Answer: Genetics. 

Killing of Manoj & Babli (same gotra) was not necessary. They would pay for their sin in the form of deformed children or no children. But what about Manoj & Babli’s parents? Would they want deformed grandchildren? Don’t grandparents have any say in how their genetic program carries on? I believe grandchildren are more important than children. Rahul Bajaj agrees with me. All grandparents will agree with me. 

However mixing Priyanka-Rizwanur affair in the same show with Manoj-Babli, creates confusion. These are two totally un-related issues. The Priyanka Rizwanur affair relates to software while the Manoj-Babli affair relates to hardware. 

Software is externally implanted program in your brain after birth (beginning with your name) as opposed to hardware (sperm and egg) as per the genetic code. 

While the above named worthies did not face any violence (as far as I know) due to Muslim marrying Hindu, I did face violence, 36 years ago. I was earning 10 times of what an IAS was earning as salary, but had to run away due to difference in software. I was on Linux (open source code), while her brain was controlled by Windows, whose source code is known only to Bill Gates, the prophet of Windows! 

COMMENT? 

]]>
dilipbam@gmail.com (Dilip Bam) Reviews Tue, 21 Aug 2012 05:52:56 +0000
TOP GEAR MAGAZiNE REViEW http://dilipbam.com/reviews/203-top-gear-magazine-review.html http://dilipbam.com/reviews/203-top-gear-magazine-review.html

 

TopGear December 2011 issue Hard copy only: 162 pages. 

ToP GeaR or ToP FeaR? Why FEAR? FEAR of mistakes. FEAR of Incomplete and inaccurate data. FEAR of Inconsistent presentation, leading to this reader’s confusion. Read on…… 

Like all udder magazines, the last pages: 131 to 162, give New Car & Bike Guide. Page 131 features “The guide to using our guide”. Bike data begins on page 156, but there is no separate “guide to using our bike guide” for the bike section so I suppose the initial “guide to using our guide” on page 131 applies to bikes also. 

In “the guide to using our guide” on page 131, #03 gives prices in your city. Indicative ex-showroom prices. 0n road for Bombay & Delhi. 

While in the car sexion page 132 to 154 the headings mention Delhi (on road) & Bombai (on road), no such disclaimer is there in the bike sexi0n. Why? What is a reader to assume? Are they 0n-road or ex-showroom? Please explane. Did I pay 100 bucks cash for trash? 

Without wasting time on cages [cars or even caaars], Let me confine myself to bikes for the time being. Specifically pages 156 to 162. Page 156 starts with Harley Davidson (HD). While Dilli and Bombai prices are mostly given, ChainNahi and BangAllWhore prices mostly show: na. 

WTF does na mean? Not available? Not allowed? Not acceptable? WTF? And if it is going to be mostly ‘na’, why not delete those columns bkoz in any case 0ne is Chain Nahi (=no peace) and it is impossible for anyone to BangAllWhores in this hole cunt ree in one lifetime! 

Still on page 156: Luuk under “Sportster”. XL 883L price: Delhi price is shown as 7.9 and Bombai price is shown as 6.48. This is impossible. Every0ne knows that Delhi bike price is always cheapest (except maybe Daman) in the hole cunt ree. Misprint? Somebody goofed and I paid 100 bucks for this goof. Money back? 

Then there is the TG rating. In the Harley Davidson sexi0n, the magazine rates HD Road King as 15/20 (75%) and V-Rod as 16/20 (80%). All udder bikes are rated as ‘na’==na na na == naat at aall! 

After HD it is HeroMotoCorp. No bike of this brand rates more than 15/20, which Karizma gets. Ha ! What kind of megazene is this? Bluddy Splendor is the LARGEST SELLiNG SiNGLE MODEL in the hole of this world! And it is not even featured! 

It should be featured and given 20/20. But the geniuses at ToP FeaR seem to FeaR giving anything 20/20 and don’t even feature it, bkoz if they featured it they would have to give Splendor a 20/20 rating, which ToP FeaR megazene is avoiding doing even though the maximum number of people in this hole world are rooting for Splendor! 

In the 100 cc category (actually 97.2 cc) of Hero, TG has featured Passion but none of the other umpteen derivatives of this 97.2 cc engine – which is OK, but not featuring the 125 cc offerings of Hero is too big a mistake to ignore. Glamour doesn’t even glimmer and Super Splendor (both 125 cc) gets no Superiority. Eh? 

I can point out many more lacunae but I don’t want to make this too long. If you like this and want more, do respond and I will give you more.

 

]]>
dilipbam@gmail.com (Dilip Bam) Reviews Tue, 21 Aug 2012 05:48:04 +0000
Autocar magazine Review http://dilipbam.com/reviews/126-autocar-magazine-review.html http://dilipbam.com/reviews/126-autocar-magazine-review.html

Autocar – 0tt0kaar India magazine. December 2011 issue. Rs.125/-. 326 pages. 

If you really want to evaluate some megazene, best is to start backwards from last page. Page 324 is creative and humorous – very guud. Then analyze bike information on pages 321, 322 & 323==0nly three pages for maybe 200 models but 27 pages for caars. In any kace, the name is 0tt0kaar not 0tt0bike. At least this megazine is honest to its name. 

Starting at the top of page 321, begins with Bajaj 0tt0. It begins with Platina 100 and under “Start (Kick/Electric)” mentions start as ‘K’, which probably means Kick ONLY – no self start. All udder bikes are mentioned as ‘E’. Does that mean “E” start ONLY? Which means no Kicker, like in Honda Dazzler and some other bikes? 

But how many people know that Honda Dazzler does NOT have kicker, only self-start. 

So does this Rs.125/- megazene make things kleer? Not to a stupid idiot like me who spent Rs.125/- for it. Why can’t they write “E+K” to make things kleer to 3-idi0ts like me who spended Rs.125/-? 

Going further, look under TVS. Incomplete information and some WRONG information! 

Eh? Wrong? What’s wrong? 

The third entry from top, that’s what’s wrong. 

The “Scooty Teenz” entry to be precise. In the fifth column [my god! Are they are fifth columnists?] under “Stroke 2/4)” they write ‘4’. Does 0ttokaar megazene believe in “Different strokes for different folks”? 

Gentlemen of 0ttokaar megazene, plizz note: Skooty Teenz is 2stroke NOT 4stroke. 

Pay attention to detail. 

Like the detail I found that the heaviest bike in this hole cunt ree is Harley Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide 1803 cc V-twin which weighs 430 kg and costs 43 lakh. That is Rs.10,000/- per kg for this bike. This bike shure knows how to throw its weight around! By the way, it is also the COSTLiEST bike in the hole of Hindusstaan! 

Looking at the car section=Pages 294 – 320, the print / font is TOO small! I am 66. I need thicker glasses! 

Map of Buddh circuit is very informative. I remember the TWiN RiNG MOTEGY circuit in Japan where I raced a 1000 cc Honda FiRESTORM in 1997 in which I touched almost 200 kph. That’s the fastest I can remember I have been. 

The Road Test of Hyosung GT650N (page 212 – 217) lacks technical punch==Low End Torque. 

GT650N test was also done by the three-member TEAM bikeguru – Devjeet Saha: age 26, height 5.8 feet, weight 68 kg., bikeguru age 66, height 5.8 feet, weight 50 kg, and Rahul Bam, son of bikeguru, age 34, height 5.9 feet, weight 73 kg. You can read their independent reports on www.dilipbam.com 

On page 215, last paragraph on LH of page, it says “Low and mid range grunt is impressive”. 

I beg to differ. Low End grunt is definitely not impressive in fact there is hardly any grunt at low end. Unless of course, they mean to say 7500 rpm is the low end because max torque is produced at 7500 rpm. For an engine that peaks at 9000 rpm, considering 7500 rpm as low end is pushing the Low Too High! 

My own ‘feel’ about the TORQUE CURVE of this GT650 engine is that it is too steep. When I had tested the 2stroke Kawasaki-Bajaj KB100 for Car&Bike magazine in June 1987 (almost 25 years ago) and the 2stroke Yamaha RX100 a couple of months later, manufacturers (Bajaj & Yamaha)used to send us hard copy of their TORQUE CURVE. I distinctly remember the slope of the TORQUE CURVE of the KB100 was a steep 72 degrees while RX100 was a flat 36 degrees. This means even though peek TorK of 10 Nm may happen at 6000 rpm, but even at say 3000 rpm the TorK would be @ 8 Nm in the RX100 whereas in KB100 at 3000 rpm it would be 4 Nm. I wish I could get torque curves of all current bikes. I googled also, but could not find TorK curve of any bike on the net. 

Road Tests in megazenes are more a statements of rider feel & data as given by manufacturer and / or measured by the tester. There is no analysis or explanation of the WHY the bike & engine performs & behaves the way it does. 

The main reason for poor Low End TorK in the GT650N is the stroke to bore ratio. 0tt0kaar megazene mentions that GT650 is a “short-stroke” engine where bore is 81.5 mm and stroke is 62 mm. Thus stroke to bore rati0 is 62 divided by 81.5==0.76. An engine having such a poor rati0 CANNOT produce strong Low End grunt, because as per Archimedes Law: Mechanical Advantage X Velocity Ratio==1. Always. 

I 0ne durr if Autocratic Autocar mega zzine has heard of Archimedes. 

In the 0tt0kaar test report of the GT650N I find no mention of headlight beam quality. This is an inexcusable lapse bkoz half of our life on the planet is darkness and we need to kleerly see where we are going if we want to stay alive! 

Fact is, this bike has 55/60 watt headlight power while most other bikes have only 35 watts. This makes the bike comparatively safer at night. 

Also, there are just 11 pages for bikes: page 207 to page 217. BAHooT Na iNSAAFi Hai ! 

Finally: I must compliment Joy Chaudhuri for his excellent article and beautiful photos. The article really gives everything about Canacona and Palolem (South Goa). The choice of photos and the historical research is fantastic, except for one error: The Portuguese 0ccupied Goa in 1506. While the first Mughal, Babur, came to India in 1526, which is 20 years later. So the Portuguese could not have taken it from the Mughals, as mentioned in column 3 on page 182. 

Fact is, it was not the Mughals from whom the Portuguese took Goa, but from the Adil Shahi Sultan. 

And 0tt0kaar, can you please number ALL your pages? The pages between 177 & 185 are not numbered. 

Bikers: PLEASE DON’T WASTE Rs.125/-. THERE’s HARDLY ANYTHING FOR BiKERs. AND WRONG DATA ABOUT BiKE. THiS MAGAZiNE DOES NOT KNOW ABOUT STROKEs, WHiCH IS SAD! 

E&OE 

]]>
dilipbam@gmail.com (Dilip Bam) Reviews Sat, 18 Aug 2012 05:36:27 +0000